About Norway


The Kingdom of Norway occupies the western and northern portions of the Scandinavian Peninsula in Europe, bordered by Sweden, Finland, and Russia. It also shares sea borders with the UK and Denmark. A rugged country of mountains, fjords, and glaciers, Norway covers an area of 385,155 square kilometres including the territories Svalbard (Spitzbergen) and Jan Mayen. Norway also holds sovereignty over Bouvet Island in the South Atlantic Ocean. Norway has a population of 4.8 million of which approximately 80,000 are Sami, an indigenous people living in Norway, Sweden, Finland and Russia. Sami settlements are located mainly in the north of the country. Having one of the world's highest per capita incomes, Norwegians enjoy a high standard of living, life expectancy, and overall health and housing standards.


Norway has an open economy with a floating exchange rate. The International Monetary Fund (IMF) forecast in October 2009 that real GDP in Norway would contract by 1.9 per cent in 2009, before returning to positive annual growth of 1.3 per cent in 2010.  The IMF expected annual inflation to fall from 2.3 per cent in 2009 to 1.8 per cent in 2010, but predicted a rise in unemployment from 3.3 per cent in 2009 to 3.8 per cent in 2010.


Bilateral relationship

Australia and Norway enjoy warm bilateral relations. As one of the three European Antarctic claimants, Norway is an important interlocutor for Australia on Antarctic issues. A bilateral Working Holiday Maker arrangement came into effect in August 2001, and is a popular means for young Australians and Norwegians to experience each other's country. A reciprocal health agreement came into effect in 2003. A bilateral Social Security Agreement came into effect in January 2007. A revised bilateral Double Taxation agreement entered into force in September 2007


Facts About Norway

  • Official name : Kingdom of Norway
  • System of government : Constitutional monarchy
  • Parliamentary democracy : The Royal House of Norway
  • Population : 4 920 305 inhabitants as of 1 January 2011
  • Norway has an indigenous Sami population as well as five national minorities, defined as groups with long association with Norway.
  • Official languages :
    • Norwegian (the two forms Bokmål and Nynorsk)
    • Sami (equal status with Norwegian in the municipalities of Kautokeino, Karasjok, Tana, Porsanger and Nesseby in Finnmark, Kåfjord and Lavangen in Troms, Tysfjord in Nordland and Snåsa in Nord-Trøndelag)
  • Religion : Protestant Christianity
  • Currency : Norwegian kroner, NOK



All rights are reserved with North American Immigration Services (NAIS) India Pvt. Ltd.